• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Rhythm

Jive A Turkey

MBTI Type
INFP
Help - Is the Se function responsible for some people's strong sense of rhythm? How can rhythm be improved?

R

RDF

Help - Is the Se function responsible for some people's strong sense of rhythm? How can rhythm be improved?

I'm not an expert on Se and Si, but it sounds reasonable to me that Se would give someone an edge on having a sense of rhythm.

As for improving one's rhythm:

At about age 35, I started getting into Ballroom and Latin dancing. Before that, I never played an instrument, rarely got out on the dance floor, and didn't figure that I had any sense of rhythm. But nowadays my wife and I regularly dance about 20 different dances in Ballroom and Latin.

Dancing has vastly increased my sense of rhythm. I can pick out a Mambo or Merengue beat, listen to monotonous types of dance music like Disco or Polka and appreciate small variations in rhythm and timing, etc.

I think there's an Si component to couples dancing or ballroom dancing. Ballroom dancing is often about practicing programmed steps and routines so that they feel right, drawing on accumulated "muscle memory" from having done the steps hundreds of times before. As an INFP, Si would tend to be more accessible to me than Se.