• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Dyslexia IS a gift, It is NOT a disability

Betty Blue

Let me count the ways
MBTI Type
ENFP
Enneagram
7W6
Instinctual Variant
sp/sx
I can't believe his reading coach bonked him!!! As a teacher, I know that performance stress is the number one way to turn off a child's ability to learn a concept! I can't believe that was allowed! When my children got squirrelly we would go out side on a poetry quest or sometimes I would just have them play a five minute game of silent speed ball to flush the stress.

Well it certainly sounds like you are one of the more conscientious teachers. It is always very reassuring to hear there are teachers like you out there.
The whole "bonking on the head" issue was underplayed by the school, they closed ranks and suggested my son had made it up, the class teacher said it didn't sound like something his 1-2-1 would do and he hadn't seen it.
I know it really happened as two parents (that i didn't even know) approached me and told me about it as their kids had said it wasn't fair. My son felt embarrased and thought it was his fault.
He was even taken out of class one day (after i started kicking up a fuss about his treatment by the staff) by the acting head and a teacher and told he had to try harder because he was making the teachers look like they were not helping him.