• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

D&D 4th Ed. Character Creation Help

GZA

Resident Snot-Nose
MBTI Type
infp
I'm new to the game, I'm about to make my second character (my first was a Cleric). I was wondering if anyone could give me a bit of advice and guidance.

I'm looking to make a character who is an absolute powerhouse. I'm thinking very high HP, very high damage in close combat. Probably a striker as well as a defender -someone who can take a lot of damage and dish out a lot of damage as well, serving as a blockade for other party members and as the frontline fighter. Powerful weapon, heavy armor.

I have PDF's of all three handbooks, and its looking like I'd want to be a Paladin, Fighter, Barbarian, or maybe a Warden? I'm not entirely sure. And for race probably human or perhaps Goliath, Dragonborn, or even Minotaur?

I suppose I'd want my trained skills to rest mostly in things relating to physical prowess (athletics), and perhaps diplomacy/intimidate, and heal would be nice.

So far I know one party member is going to be a half-elven Ranger with a bow, and it sounds like one guy wants to be a sorcerer or something.

What kind of race/class combination would achieve this and what else should I consider in order to make a character who isnt so optimized as to screw over everyone else?

kyuuei

Emperor/Dictator
MBTI Type
enfp