User Tag List

MBTI
    infp

Default D&D 4th Ed. Character Creation Help

I'm new to the game, I'm about to make my second character (my first was a Cleric). I was wondering if anyone could give me a bit of advice and guidance.

I'm looking to make a character who is an absolute powerhouse. I'm thinking very high HP, very high damage in close combat. Probably a striker as well as a defender -someone who can take a lot of damage and dish out a lot of damage as well, serving as a blockade for other party members and as the frontline fighter. Powerful weapon, heavy armor.

I have PDF's of all three handbooks, and its looking like I'd want to be a Paladin, Fighter, Barbarian, or maybe a Warden? I'm not entirely sure. And for race probably human or perhaps Goliath, Dragonborn, or even Minotaur?

I suppose I'd want my trained skills to rest mostly in things relating to physical prowess (athletics), and perhaps diplomacy/intimidate, and heal would be nice.

So far I know one party member is going to be a half-elven Ranger with a bow, and it sounds like one guy wants to be a sorcerer or something.

What kind of race/class combination would achieve this and what else should I consider in order to make a character who isnt so optimized as to screw over everyone else?

MBTI
    enfp
    Enneagram

I was a Goliath Barbarian, and it worked out VERY well as a tank/damage dealer. I'd suggest just finding a heal bot elsewhere in the party, but if you have high HP you probably won't need healing. I never needed such an ability, and we didn't have a heal bot.
    Kantgirl: Just say "I'm feminine and I'll punch anyone who says otherwise!"
    Halla74: Think your way through the world. Feel your way through life.

Cimarron: maybe Prpl will be your girl-bud
    prplchknz: i don't like it

In Search Of... ... Kiwi Sketch Art ... Dream Journal ... Kyuuei's Cook book ... Kyu's Tiny House Blog ... Minimalist Challenge ... Kyu's Savings Challenge

MBTI
    infp