123 Last

Permabanned
    MBTI
    INTJ
    Enneagram
    5w6 sp/sx
    Socionics
    ILE

Default What is the longest period of time you've been unemployed?

This is a pure information gathering thread.

I'm just curious about how long most people have gone a period of time without being able to find employment.

And this doesn't have to be profession, but just a simple job, such as working at fast food or something. What is the longest period of time you've gone through without being unemployed?

If you were unemployed for any length of time, did you start losing motivation for even finding work? Did you begin to lose a sense of self and identity?

MBTI
    xNTP

I'll bite.

The longest period I was unemployed for was three months. My internship had just ended and since I was in my senior year of college I decided to focus all my energy on my last semester. Then in January, right after I graduated, I started looking for work.

Striving for balance Little Linguist's Avatar
    MBTI
    xNFP

Well, I did not work before I was 18 because my family thought I should focus on school. I took about one-and-a-half years off before I started studying, during which I did not work. After I started studying, I did various on-campus jobs. After I graduated, I had three months off before I went to Germany. Then I had a one-year contract that was extended another year (it could not be extended any further) and then it took about two months to find another job. After I decided that job wasn't for me, I went directly into the job I had now - so I had about four days off.

So I guess the one-and-a-half year gap was the largest, but I had an internship during that time for three months as well.
    If you are interested in language, words, linguistics, or foreign languages, check out my blog and read, post, and/or share.

MBTI
    INFJ