User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    Meow
    Enneagram
    :0) so/sp
    Socionics
    EII Ne

Default How realistic is it to shoot for your dream job?

We're often told as children to shoot for our dreams and not to let anything hold us back, but as soon as we hit secondary education we're told to choose careers that are profitable and can sustain us in the long run.

Right now I'm majoring in Arts and Culture Journalism (after a lifetime of being pushed to do engineering by my dad), and I'm aware that there probably won't be many job opportunities in my field, and the ones I do receive most likely won't be the best paying. I've been wondering whether or not I should pick up another major in something more "practical" or if I should mainly focus my energy into what I'm doing now.

What has been your experience in this area?

"Be clearly aware of the stars and infinity on high.
    Then life seems almost enchanted after all."
    - Vincent van Gogh

johari/nohari

infp 4w5 ?w? 9w? so=sp>sx

It depends on what you want most, your dream, or comfort and financial stability. Personally I choose the latter. My dream has changed throughout my life anyways, so long as Im doing something which puts my innate capacities to use, rather than flipping fries, Im happy; especially since I aspire to be financially stable, so as to better enjoy life outside of work.

MBTI
    yupp

My dream job is to time travel so not very for me
    In no likes experiment.

that is all

i dunno what else to say so

MBTI
    enfp
    Enneagram

Honestly, it depends on the realistic expectations of having a dream job, and your willingness to put in effort.

If your dream is to be a CEO, or a senator--you can definitely work on that. It's possible. I don't know if you'll succeed, but it is possible, and quite do-able. People do it all the time.