User Tag List

Permabanned

Default It's weird, looks like I'm a farmer...

I'm not sure why...didn't grow up on a farm...

Just like the idea...

Meat...all types...I want a huge herd...of everything...

I like meat...

Farming for an intp? Does it fit?

What appeals to me is that, within reason, you get to set your own lifestyle..you're not answering to anyone...just you and the world...

Also, with online education becoming more and more acceptable...I can pursue my PhD as well....which is awesome...

I guess I'm happy. It's a nice change of pace...

MBTI
    INTj

I had several friends who did farming for a while. There are many benefits, but there are negatives also. Some of the work is quite filthy and demanding. You have to answer to the weather. Cashflow can be a problem.

MBTI
    enfp
    Enneagram

We've been learning the ins-and-outs of gardening lately, and canning.. Starting out small helps a LOT. It doesn't feel so overwhelming then..

I'd suggest starting with chickens, and see how you like it. If you don't get roosters and just hens, they're not noisy, and they're useful for both chicken meat and eggs. They're fairly low maintenance for farm animals (just clean the coop out, clip the wings, and feed them just about anything) and they eat their weight in table scraps, weeds, and bugs.

The bigger the animal the more investment, but we're looking at starting with chickens and then moving to goats, pigs, cows, and maybe even a bison in the distant future.
    Kantgirl: Just say "I'm feminine and I'll punch anyone who says otherwise!"
    Halla74: Think your way through the world. Feel your way through life.

Cimarron: maybe Prpl will be your girl-bud
    prplchknz: i don't like it

In Search Of... ... Kiwi Sketch Art ... Dream Journal ... Kyuuei's Cook book ... Kyu's Tiny House Blog ... Minimalist Challenge ... Kyu's Savings Challenge

WhoCares