User Tag List

123 Last

Thread: Value of MBA

MBTI
    INTJ
    Enneagram
    5w6

Default Value of MBA

I am currently studying the final year of an MBA as I believed it might be good for my career. Has anyone else here studied and MBA and if so what impact did it have on your career progression?

MBTI
    entp
    Enneagram

So far the MBA has struck me to be a chance for rich people to have an excuse to work a little less and enjoy some study time.

Think in big companies it is mandatory, if you want to become a chairman or something. They dont teach only boring theory on those business schools around here, but the schools have a certain standing that attracts financially well-suited people and those are networked into the big companies and their connections. That makes it easier for companies to either find good management material or people with money to back up their endeavours.
    [URL]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tEBvftJUwDw&t=0s[/URL]

MBTI
    ENTP
    Enneagram
    Socionics
    ILE None

@entropie :
    It makes sense in the US. Given the European education system MBAs are a bit silly to be frank as a 'regular' masters degree in a business school equates a bachelor + MBA only without full-time work in between.
    Now of course people will deny this but while there are counter arguments one could raise most of them are based in a form of secular superstition. It's basically the same piece of paper shaped into a different Origami.

Now there is of course the question of the quality of the education provided. But that applies to a European-type masters degree as well as to any MBA. It's one of the ways the US education system and culture exports itself, it also offers a form of job protectionism by putting a stamp onto a form of education that isn't inherently qualitatively better than another and biasing the recruiters with what is after all just a brand name. But advertising does work, just don't expect any MBA specific epiphany

@Valis :