User Tag List

123 Last

Default Engineering? Engineering!

So lately it's really come to my attention that I would perhaps like to go to school for engineering.

I guess I have this grande idea in my mind that engineering should be about innovative invention, finding out how things work, improving upon old technologies, creativity.

Those are all things I am very attracted to. I know that there is probably a disconnect between my fantasy and reality, but I want to know how big that gap is.

Does anyone who has had experience with engineering or engineers have any advice for someone interested in this field? What can I expect? What are some of the more forward-moving branches of engineering? Civic? Mechanical? Electrical? Chemical? Am I completely disillusioned?

I studied civil engineering. There's a little bit of innovation, quite a bit of formulas (in school at least), we did have lots of labs and hands-on stuff, which I enjoyed. In the work force, it seems to really depend on the job you end up with, the company. There are companies that design sidewalk grades or the parts to the machines that manufacture paper cups, and there are companies that help design state-of-the-art bridges, cars, etc.

It is a very practical thing to study, though, it is fairly good at preparing you for a job, unlike, say a degree in poetry or something.
    Your kisses, sweeter than honey. But guess what, so is my money.

MBTI
    entp
    Enneagram