User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    ISFJ
    Enneagram
    Socionics
    IEI

Default Public Speaking? Why am I so afraid?

I have never understood this. I can stand being screamed at by a Drill Instructor, or giving a demonstration to my fellow Marines, but when it comes to giving a speech to a room full of highschoolers, my knees start to knock like they did in high school.

Obviously I have a lot of experience with my topic, but I have been stressing for three days about an eight minute presentation on the Marine Corps.

I would have thought I had outgrown this by now.

Thoughts? Suggestions?
    Anything that you haven't fought for isn't going to be appreciated. It takes blood, sweat, and a large amount of tears before you appreciate what you have.

MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    1w2 so/sx

I think mostly the fear is of the unknown. We also don't like doing things that we're not sure we can succeed at or where there won't be unaccounted factors beyond our control.