• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Job searching, and a lot of discouragement :(

SilkRoad

Lay the coin on my tongue
MBTI Type
INFJ
Enneagram
6w5
Instinctual Variant
sp/sx
I live in the UK, where the job market is still not great since last year, but it's picking up.

I've been working in publishing for close to three years, and the whole time for the same company (a major publishing house), but have not had a permanent job in that time. It's always been contracts and temp work, though I have applied for permanent jobs.

My last major job for the publisher I'm with was Managing Editor for the children's division, but it was maternity cover so lasted for 14 months and ended in October. It was amazing experience and I was really quite fortunate to get the job (a combination of skills, timing, passion for children's books, being recommended by previous supervisors) as I only had a year's experience in publishing at that point.

Since that contract ended I've been temping for different departments of the same publisher and am quite in demand as a temp. However, a permanent job with this or any other company eludes me. I think since October I've had about seven interviews.