User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    INFJ

Question Am I wasting my time?

Here's my dilemma.

I graduated last year with a degree in graphic design and realized I didn't want to pursue it as a career. It's hard to describe how much I detest it: it's mind-numbing, soul-crushing work that is overly demanding for such low stability and meager personal and financial reward. I always knew it wasn't right for me; but not knowing what else to major in, I stuck with it to the very end hoping I would develop a love for it. Unfortunately it did not happen. After finishing an internship earlier this year I decided to take some time off to volunteer as a way to 'find myself' while looking for a job unrelated to design on the side. Well it has been 5-6 months since then and it has proven to be very difficult to find a job with a degree I no longer wish to put to use. I am pretty much unqualified for everything.

I have an interest in psychology and education but I have no desire to become a teacher in a traditional classroom setting. I thought about pursuing educational psychology and human development but those jobs are scarce from what I understand. If I decide to go back to school to take a few courses (which means I would have to start next year since its a little too late to enrol in the 101 courses now), there is no guarantee that I will still wish to pursue that avenue. Even if I did go through with it and end up getting a masters degree, I might not have a job at the end - meaning lots of time and money wasted. At 24, I feel like I should have achieved more in my life: I have almost no work experience, no job/career... with only an indefinite idea of what I want to do.

To sum it up: I'm lost, confused and don't know what to do now. I know I shouldn't compare myself with others but I can't help but feel very behind my peers who have full-time jobs in the fields they enjoy.

Help.

MBTI
    istp