123 Last

MBTI
    ENTj
    Enneagram
    5w4
    Socionics
    ENTj

Default Career in Academia

Is there anyone out there in this field that wants to give their opinion of it?

I just want to know what you like, dislike, and anything else you would like to share.
    ENTJ LIE
    3w4 sp/sx
    3w4(4w5)-5w6(6w7)-9w8(1w9)

MBTI
    INTJ
    Enneagram
    512 sp/so

It sucks and I can't stand the self-indulgence. I'm currently doing a PhD, but it's with the aim of going into industry once I graduate.

What I like about it: Relative freedom to study what I want to study, to do experiments that I want to do, flexible working hours, being able to hang out with a group of people who are relatively smart and highly educated. The exciting moments where I go "A-ha!", which result in me living in the lab for the next few weeks. Teaching intelligent, excited and motivated students who challenge me.

What I dislike about it: As I said, the self-indulgence. The drive to publish as many papers as possible. The politics involved with getting a paper accepted to a particular journal. The politics that you have to play to get funding. The politics that you have to play to get support. The lab politics, down at the lowest level. Slackers who aren't interested in what they're doing, and are just trying to maintain the status quo. The over-idealised vision of a place where people seek "truth" that is sold to naiive people, and the expectations that so many of us fail to live up to.

So yeah, academia. Do I sound bitter? Strangely enough, I feel like I'm just telling it as it is. I've never wanted to be part of academia permanently, so perhaps my views are skewed.

Sniffles

I'm more interested in the field of Independent Scholarship.

ish red no longer *sad* nightning's Avatar
    MBTI
    INfj