User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    INTP
    Enneagram

Default Questions about graduate study

Do high school results affect one's chance of being accepted into grad school for a master's degree? I'm an undergrad who's doing quite well in a B.A in journalism, but my HS results were disgusting, to say the least.

That said, what do you recommend I further my studies in? I would love to be an 'academic activist' (Sloppy term, I know. Well, basically someone who researches into things such as discrimination and influence changes in a concrete way, like policies. I would love to work in a think tank/non profit). My prime interest is gender (other interests include racism, poverty, etc) but women's studies would be too narrow, wouldn't it? (though not out of the question). Other ideas floating in my head are international relations, anthropology, sociology, public policy and development studies.

(I know, I know that it all depends on the school I apply to, right? But generally speaking, what are my chances? I have less than 2 years before I graduate, so I'm just assessing my options.)

Any valuable input would be much appreciated!

ish red no longer *sad* nightning's Avatar
    MBTI
    INfj

1. Highschool? NO! Even undergrad grades to some extent only plays a partial role. It's about finding a good fit with your supervisor. If they back you, you're in.

2. It doesn't depend on the school... it depends on the prof you're working under. The choice should be based on which field of research interests you... and based on that, find your prof... then you bring the school into consideration.

3. Chances? God knows. You best bet is to ask around. Figure out which area you are interested in and hunt out the profs in the field. Find out as much about them as you can... if possible, contact their current or previous grad students and ask them their experiences working under the prof.