• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Ways to explain being an English Major???

edcoaching

MBTI Type
INFJ
Enneagram
In a rather typical NF fashion I majored in English because I like to read and write. An ST friend just made a sarcastic comment about the stupidity of English essays, saying "When you're done, what good is it?" He didn't buy my line about critical thinking or about providing insights into human nature that build leadership and even marketing skills...

Anyone else had success explaining "fluff" majors to STs???

Dwigie

MBTI Type
INFP
Use metaphors, what does your friend like? Tell him that this is to you what "x" is to him, he should leave you alone soon enough.
Things can be useful without producing "palpable" results, like a person having a mental break down and going in therapy, all you see a smile but there's so much more ;).
There's gotta be someone making the darn books he's reading, the TV scripts for the shows he or she watches and what not!:azdaja:
practical ways to use an english major:
- imagine how much more effective someone who majored in english would be at writing a motivational speech for employees encouraging them to work better(he knows what words to use better, the person who majored just needs to get a little grasp of a few concepts here and there first)?

ptgatsby

MBTI Type
ISTP