User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram

Default Ways to explain being an English Major???

In a rather typical NF fashion I majored in English because I like to read and write. An ST friend just made a sarcastic comment about the stupidity of English essays, saying "When you're done, what good is it?" He didn't buy my line about critical thinking or about providing insights into human nature that build leadership and even marketing skills...

Anyone else had success explaining "fluff" majors to STs???
    edcoaching

MBTI
    INFP

I wouldn't deign to explain myself to someone like that.

Banned
    MBTI
    type

Try explaining it to me sometime. Nevermind, bad idea.

MBTI
    INFP

Use metaphors, what does your friend like? Tell him that this is to you what "x" is to him, he should leave you alone soon enough.
    Things can be useful without producing "palpable" results, like a person having a mental break down and going in therapy, all you see a smile but there's so much more .
    There's gotta be someone making the darn books he's reading, the TV scripts for the shows he or she watches and what not!
    practical ways to use an english major:
    - imagine how much more effective someone who majored in english would be at writing a motivational speech for employees encouraging them to work better(he knows what words to use better, the person who majored just needs to get a little grasp of a few concepts here and there first)?
    Sometimes I feel like I'm "on Mercury"-

MBTI
    ISTP

Quote Originally Posted by edcoaching View Post
    In a rather typical NF fashion I majored in English because I like to read and write. An ST friend just made a sarcastic comment about the stupidity of English essays, saying "When you're done, what good is it?" He didn't buy my line about critical thinking or about providing insights into human nature that build leadership and even marketing skills...